Year 9/10: Season wrap 2014-15

Alex Divall and Oban Hawkins... part of the Year 9/10 T20 side that won their Auckland grade.

Alex Divall and Oban Hawkins… part of the Year 9/10 T20 side that won their Auckland grade.

Coach/organiser Allan Taylor

Most cricketers head off to play for their school teams from Year 8 but to keep them involved with Birkenhead City Cricket Club we encourage them to join a Year 9/10 side – either for a short T20 competition that starts before school cricket does, or if they aren’t playing competitive cricket at their school, we set up a Year 9/10 afternoon cricket side that can be entered at an appropriate level in the Auckland club cricket competition.

This season we had a Yr 9/10 team side that played five T20 matches before Christmas and comprised  6 year 10s (Dilshan Senewiratne, Josh Taylor, Alex Divall, Neel Patel, Isaiah Morunga, Thomas Gordon)   and four Year 9s (Oban Hawkins, Luke Lyndon, Ryan Zent, Sam Brewis). Alec Bennie from Yr 8 also played 4 of the games plus there were a couple of fill ins.

We only lost our first game to HBCC who batted first and scored 136/6  and we ended up 134/7 – 3 runs short.
Then we won the next 4 straight. Scoring over 170 runs in 3 of the 5 matches and 148 in the other off 20 overs.
The boys scored 811 runs in 5 games for 615 against and took 37 wickets for the loss of 33 wickets.

Seven batsman scorer over 50 runs Ryan Zent – 139, Oban Hawkins – 89 (4 games) Alex Divall – 88, Josh Taylor – 77 (4 games), Isaiah Morunga – 63, Neel Patel 58 (4 games) & Sam Brewis – 56.

Top batting: Ryan Zent  139 runs from 5 games 2not outs an HS 48

Top wicket takers:
Oban Hawkins – 7 wickets
Alex Divall – 6 wickets
Dilshan Senewiratne & Matt White 4 wickets
Josh Taylor, Sam Brewis, Alec Bennie, Isaiah Morunga & Neel Patel with 2 each.

Oban Hawkins topped the team MVP on Cric Hq

With four from five wins, the team won their grade.

North Harbour Representatives:
Year 9 Oban Hawkins, Sam Brewis, Nick Hazeldine, Luke Lyndon
Year 10 Joshua Taylor, Neel Patel