Year 5 Curtling: Season wrap 2014-2015


Rear: Bernard O’Leary (coach), Alexander Godward, Samuel Godward, Matthew Godward (coach). Front: Everton O’Leary, Harry Price, Connor Muirhead, Mitchell Tucker, Aaron Fialho Absent: Noah Curtis, Abdur Kothiwala PHOTO: Northstar

Year 5 Curtling

Coaches Matt Godward, Bernard O’Leary

Matt Godward composed a bit of a verse he cited in honour of Team Curtling at the awards ceremony.

We are team Curtling.

A team full of characters

We had … 9 boys and ended with 6
We had … Mitch the animated Ronchi keeper rookie, who perished breaking his arm diving for a cookie.
We had … Noah the quirky leggy who bowled a great line but who thought (like Mitch) that having one arm was fine so he also broke his at about the same time.
We had … Abdur the Kohli Indian master blaster guy who defected to India for an IPL contract with Mumbai.

And so that left 6 …
We were left with Connor the Guptill fielding machine who swings a big bat as good as I’ve seen.
We have … Aaron the Southee swing genius and late-cut expert, who never gives up, even when his legs hurt.
We have … Alex the pocket rocket McCullum who makes balls fly, just like that BlackCaps captain guy.
We have … Sam the lightning Boult (Trent that is) who makes stumps shatter, and batsmen’s knees clatter.
We have… Everton the hard-hitting (Corey Anderson) all rounder, who clubs the ball like a pounder.
We have ….Harry who joined us late and green, who went from zero to hero and hits (like Vettori) to the leg side real mean.
And off the field … Bernard as co-pilot,  Mel as communications expert, Neal behind the score sheets
And the crowd … going crazy from the boundary (you know who you are)
And so … the BCC Curtling boys delivered 12 wins from 15 games.
That’s an 80% win rate playing with flair, passion and in the spirit of the game.
Well done you lot!

Major awards:
Best Batsman
Alex Godward 443 runs avg 27
Best Bowler Sam Godward 26 wickets avg 9.1
Best Allrounder Everton O’Leary 364 runs avg 26 + 23 wickets avg 9.1

Aaron Fialho
: Most outstanding sportsmanship and graceful swing bowling award.
Mitchell Tucker: Most effective hook shot and animated wicket keeping award.
Noah Curtis: Most versatile leg spin bowler and cheeky batsman award.
Harry Price: Most improved team player in all facets of the game award.
Abdur Kothiwala: Most determined cricketer with bat and ball award.
Connor Muirhead: Most outstanding fielder and solid all round player award.